- Sponsorship -

Student TV Broadcasters Take Top Honors in Michigan

An impressive mix of news stories, current events features and public service recently earned the Rockford High School video production program top honors from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters. The program, “Beyond the Rock,” was named the 2015 High School Television Station of Year. It was the program’s seventh title and third in the past four years.

Rockford teams won first place in five categories: hard news, public service announcements, talk or scripted show, current events program and digital media experience. In all, 26 students placed among top three honors in nine categories.

Taught by Kris DeYoung, the class typically enrolls 100 to 120 students each trimester, including about 30 in the advanced program.

“It was an amazing experience to be a part of such an outstanding team,” said Lauren Hayward, a student executive producer along with Austin Flynn.

Added video technician Jason Springer, “The group came together to achieve what is really a tremendous honor in the broadcasting world.”


Michigan Association of Broadcasters award winners

Beyond the Rock

- Sponsorship -
Charles Honey
Charles Honey
Charles Honey is editor-in-chief of SNN, and covers series and issues stories for all districts. As a reporter for The Grand Rapids Press/mLive from 1985 to 2009, his beats included Grand Rapids Public Schools, local colleges and education issues. Honey served as editor of The Press’ award-winning Religion section for 15 years and its columnist for 20. His freelance articles have appeared in Christianity Today, Religion News Service and Faith & Leadership magazine. Read Charles' full bio


Related Articles

- Sponsorship -

Issues in Education

Making Headlines

- Sponsorship -


Maranda Where You Live WGVU